Friday, October 8, 2010

4 doubles teams qualify for WTA Championships

The four doubles teams that will participate in the upcoming WTA Championships are:

Gisela Dulko & Flavia Pennetta
Kveta Peschke & Katarina Srebotnik
Lisa Raymond & Rennae Stubbs
Vania King & Yaroslava Shvedova

Venus and Serena Williams were taken out of contention because Venus has stopped playing for the season. Last year's winners, Nuria Llagostera Vives and Maria Jose Martinez Sanchez, just missed the cut. Martinez Sanchez was out for part of the year with an injury, and the team lost its momentum. In the 2009 championships, the Spanish team defeated both the Williams sisters and the team of Cara Black and Liezel Huber.

No comments: