Thursday, March 27, 2008

2007 tour player awards announced

The Sony Ericsson WTA Tour player awards for 2007 are:

Player of the Year--Justine Henin
Doubles Team of the Year--Cara Black and Liezel Huber
Karen Krantzcke Sportsman of the Year--Ana Ivanovic (silly me--I thought Ivanovic was a
Comeback of the Year--Lindsay Davenoport
Newcomer of the Year--Agnes Szavay
Most Improved Player--Ana Ivanovic
Service Award--Liezel Huber

1 comment:

Todd Spiker said...

And, in other current news of the day, the winner for Best Picture of 1997 is... "Titanic." :)

Seriously, while I know they like to announce these awards at their big get together in Miami every year, could they make the whole thing any more anticlimactic? It's almost April, for craminy's sake. They could still have their dress-up gala in Miami, but give out these awards at either the YEC or in Melbourne when what's being honored doesn't seem to have occurred a lifetime ago. (And, yeah, I realize the Oscars are given out in the opening months of the next year, as well, but most of those movies have usually only fairly recently been released.)

Okay, I'll step off my soapbox now. :)

(Congrats to Szavay, though... maybe it'll spur her on a bit.)