NEWS AND COMMENTARY ON WOMEN'S PROFESSIONAL TENNIS
I just read the brief article about this and I was surprised she didn't gain a spot automatically for winning the Australian. I thought GS winners were granted a spot regardless. Was it ever that way? Or perhaps I am thinking of the men's championship?
To my knowledge, it was never that way. If I'm wrong, perhaps someone will come along and correct me.There is a rule, however, that states that the 8th spot does not have to be given to number 8 in the race; it can go to someone at the tour's discretion. This has never been done, which is fine with me.
I'm inclined to agree with Ken. If Grand Slams are the true measure of greatness, shouldn't the winners automatically receive entry into the season-ending Championships?Although this year, it looks fairly certain that all three winners will qualify.
This could wind up being the year that the "discretion" rule is used, if Venus needs help getting into the YEC. But I have a feeling Sharapova is going to withdraw her name.
Post a Comment