Friday, June 6, 2008

Medina Garrigues and Ruano Pascual win French Open!

Virginia Ruano Pascual

Anabel Medina Garrigues

Anabel Medina Garrigues and former doubles world number 1 Virginia Ruano Pascual have won the 2008 French Open women's doubles championship. The tenth seeds defeated unseeded Casey Dellacqua and Francesca Schiavone in a tight three-set match, 2-6, 7-5, 6-4.

This is Ruano Pascual's 40th career doubles title. She won the French Open women's doubles championship four other times, with former main partner (now retired) Paola Suarez, and she and Suarez also won one Australian Open title and three U.S. Open titles. Ruano Pascual also won the 2001 French Open mixed doubles title. This is the third title she has won with Medina Garrigues.

This is clay specialist Medina Garrigues' tenth career doubles title, and her first win at a major.

No comments: